I like Quora but everytime I go on it, I find something that pisses me off

Here’s what I found today:

 

The answer plain and simple is that they did so to make MORE MONEY.  They were spending a specific amount of money per user acquisition and they needed to make sure the user lifetimes held up after they were acquired so they didn’t lose money.  User acquisition costs were probably going up so they had to do what was in their control to manage that.  Since they couldn’t influence costs, they tried to influence the average user life.  That’s the real answer.

I have all the respect for Steve Case but he dodges the question on Quora and yet he gets up-voted for a low quality answer.

3 thoughts on “I like Quora but everytime I go on it, I find something that pisses me off

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention I like Quora but everytime I go on it, I find something that pisses me off « ECPM BLOG -- Topsy.com

  2. I used to be in the military & it took me months to get the stupid AOL account canceled. Then when we were on a 6-month deployment I lent my computer to a friend on the boat who had his wife use it so they could email back and forth. After we got back from deployment while checking my bank account I saw the AOL account was active again and I was in for a couple more months of hell ahead. And the dirtbag shipmate never paid a cent for that either…ever since then whenever I would see stacks of AOL discs anywhere (the post office, gas stations, etc.) I would literally throw the whole stack in the garbage, just based on principal. They made canceling brutal & cost me money, so I made sure I cost them some as well. :D

    I think social media gives people the illusion of success through proximity. Thus people are impressed to rub shoulders with successful people, even if they are douchebags and liars to boot. There is the unsaid message that “you too can be a billionaire” that a lot of entrepreneurs and start up folks want to believe in.

    Then again, how many successful and rich people exclaim of the abuses that made them rich after the fact? I remember the video where Mark Pincus joked about installing malware on his customer’s computers, but he thought that was a small private event rather than something that would end up broadcasted on the likes of TechCrunch.

Comments are closed.